Palermo – Why the Sicilian Capital is a Must See When in Europe

by | 12/10/16 | Europe, Italy, Traveling | 12 comments

Palermo is my second home. So I always had a kind of different point of view on the city. More like a local than like a tourist.

During my last stay though I tried my best to see the Sicilian capital through different eyes. I went to explore places that I hadn’t seen since I was a child. By that time why just went there – me and my family – to check that. Now, 20 years later, I took a look again at the beautiful historic places. I did some day trips as well. I will tell you about them in my next blog post.

Palermo - Barbara Giardino

But today’s blog post is only about Palermo!

via maqueda geschmueckt

What do you need to see, to do, to explore? I’ll tell you in a minute!

Let’s immerse into that wonderful world that is a mixture of different cultures, that left their tracks.

Influenced by the whole world

Palermo and Sicily belonged during Centuries to different peoples. All of them left parts of the own culture which became part of the following and so on until Sicily’s very own and special culture ended up existing. You can hear it, feel it, see it.

Palermo vom Ambasciatori

Hear it… because there was an impact on the language. Yes, exactly. I said language not dialect! Sicilian is not an Italian dialect, but a very own minority language. In Palermo people speak Palermitan which is a Sicilian dialect by the way, not an Italian one.

Feel it… because Palermo just feels differently than the rest of Italy. It may be the climate which is giving Palermo around 8 months out of 12 of summer. The other 4 are spring. Or it could be the typical south Italian happiness. But I can assure you that being in Italy feels different.

See it… because in contrast to the architecture in the rest of Italy the buildings in Palermo have strong influences of the Arabic and Norman style. So they differ drastically from other cities like Florence, Milan or Rome.

palermo arabisches gebaeude

 

kathedrale mit mehr gruen

My 5 Favorite Places in Palermo

#1 Piazza Pretoria

Piazza Pretoria von oben

Piazza Pretoria or Piazza della Vergogna (Square of Shame) is located directly in the heart of the historic center. The epithet comes from the naked statues that surround the fountain in the middle of the square. Next to it there is the Town Hall of Palermo. I always liked the fountain with the funny story of its name.

#2 Teatro Politeama

Politeama Palermo

 

The Teatro Politeama is making me smile every time I see it. Although the Teatro Massimo – the biggest opera in Italy – is way more impressive with its size and history, I often find myself sitting in front of the Politeama, but never in front of the Massimo thinking of whatever comes to my mind.

 

#3 Monreale

Monreale von innen

 

In the small town of Monreale, high up in the mountains next to Palermo, there is a Dome. It’s impressive from the inside and from the outside.

Monreale von außen compressor

The special thing about it is that people used gold leaf to decorate the whole area of the altar which is creating an extraordinary golden light and the impression of power. It was used as a model and copied in a smaller version for the chapel of the prince Federico II. in the Palazzo Normanni (the Norman Palace in the city center of Palermo, where the princes of Palermo resided).

#4 Monte Pellegrino & Santuario di Santa Rosalia

Foto aus dem Auto

On the Monte Pellegrino there are two Highlights waiting for you:

On one hand side there is the sanctuary of the patron Saint of Palermo, Santa Rosalia. It is built into the mountain so the main part of the Sanctuary consists of fieldstone. The light is therefore artificial which is creating a really special atmosphere.

Kirche Santa Rosalia

Santa Rosalia

The second highlight is along the street. If you arrive by bus to the Monte Pellegrino, you will need to walk around 29 minutes to walk there. By car it’s a 5 minutes drive. It’s a big platform at the edge of the mountain where you have an amazing view over Palermo. From the other side the view is good as well, but I am not sure about what it is that you see. It’s not Mondello I think.

Ausblick vom Monte Pellegrino auf Palermo

#5 Mondello

Mondello Palermo

Mondello is a village, a former fishing village, which has become one of the most touristy places of Palermo. In high season you can’t even move here. Because everybody wants to get some sun at one of the most beautiful beaches of Italy and go to one of the famous restaurants with the freshest fish and the best sea food.

I love coming here in October when it’s not that crowded anymore, but it’s still super good weather. I just stroll along the promenade then and watch the Monte Pellegrino.

From this side, the mountain looks like a sleeping dog (have a close look and you will see it in the photo). That’s why I was always fascinated by it – sind I was a child.

When do you fly to Palermo?

Could I convince you of the unique beauty of Palermo? Just hit the reply button if you have some more questions! If not: Safe travels!

Yours Barbara

The Palermo Guide for Digital Nomads

Palermo Guide for Digital Nomads

Live Like a Local

Are you searching for a cool spot for digital nomads in Europe? You should check out Palermo in Italy!

Subscribe to my newsletter so I can keep you posted about my life of travels and as a digital nomad! You will never miss a new blog post, a new ebook or where my next adventure is going to bring us. Because it’s never going to be boring!

EUROPE
SUNSET IN ISOLA DELLE FEMMINE
EUROPE
THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PLACES IN THE NORTH WEST OF SICILY
EUROPE
SPOTS TO WORK IN PALERMO

Palermo – Warum die sizilianische Hauptstadt ein Must See ist

von | 12/10/16 | Europa, Italien, Reisen | 32 Kommentare

Palermo ist meine zweite Heimat. Damit hatte ich irgendwie schon immer eine andere Sicht auf die sizilianische Hauptstadt.

Trotzdem habe ich mir bei meinem letzten Aufenthalt Mühe gegeben, die Stadt mal mit anderen Augen zu betrachten. Ich habe Orte besucht, die ich schon seit meiner Kindheit nicht mehr gesehen habe, weil wir sie eben „abgehakt“ hatten. In meinem nächsten Bericht geht es dann um meine verschiedenen Tagesausflüge, die ich von Palermo aus unternommen habe.

Barbara Giardino Inglese

Heute geht es aber um die Stadt selbst!

via maqueda geschmueckt

Was muss man unbedingt gesehen, gemacht, erlebt haben? Ich sag’s dir!

Lass uns eintauchen in diese wunderbare Welt mit einer Mischung aus zig Kulturen, die ihre Spuren hinterlassen haben.

Einflüsse aus aller Welt

Palermo bzw. Sizilien war über viele Hundert Jahre im Besitz ständiger wechselnder Völker. Alle haben sie ihre Spuren hinterlassen, die heute hörbar, spürbar oder sichtbar sind.

Palermo vom Ambasciatori

Hörbar… weil sie Einfluss auf die sizilianische Sprache hatten. Genau, du hast richtig gelesen! Sizilianisch ist kein Dialekt, sondern eine eigene, anerkannte Minderheitensprache. In Palermo spricht man übrigens sogar Palermitanisch: ein sizilianischer Dialekt (kein italienischer!).

Spürbar… weil es sich anders anfühlt, in Palermo zu sein. Es mag am daran liegen, dass hier 8 von 12 Monaten Sommer (und 4 Monate Frühling) herrscht. Oder daran, dass hier jeder die typische süditalienisch Offenheit lebt. Auf jeden Fall fühlt es sich anders an.

Sichtbar… weil die Gebäude anders als im übrigen Italien deutliche arabische, normannische oder andere Einflüsse aufweisen und sich damit ganz schön von Florenz, Mailand oder Rom unterscheiden.

palermo arabisches gebaeude

kathedrale mit mehr gruen

Meine 5 Lieblingsorte in Palermo

#1 Piazza Pretoria

Piazza Pretoria von oben

Piazza Pretoria oder auch Piazza della Vergogna (Platz der Scham) liegt mitten im historischen Zentrum. Der Platz hat seinen Beinamen durch die durchweg nackten Statuen im Brunnen und um ihn herum erhalten. Direkt daneben liegt das Rathaus von Palermo. Ich fand den Brunnen schon immer beeindruckend und einfach wunderschön.

 

#2 Teatro Politeama

Politeama Palermo

Das Teatro Politeama lässt mich aus unerklärlichen Gründen immer strahlen. Eigentlich ist das Teatro Massimo – das größte Theater Italiens – viel imposanter und doch sitze ich häufig vorm Politeama und schaue es in Gedanken versunken an, während ich noch nie vor dem Massimo gesessen habe.

#3 Monreale

Monreale von innen

In der Kleinstadt Monreale, hoch in den Bergen am Rande von Palermo, steht ein Dom. Dieser ist von innen wie von außen unglaublich imposant.

Monreale von außen

Das Besondere ist, dass sein gesamter Altar- und Chorbereich mit Blattgold verziert sind, sodass ein einzigartiges goldenes Licht und ein Eindruck von Macht entsteht. In klein wurde der Dom als Kapelle für den Prinzen Federico II. im Palazzo Normanni (dem Normannenpalast in der Innenstadt von Palermo, der Fürsten- und Prinzensitz war) nachgebaut.

 

#4 Monte Pellegrino & Santuario di Santa Rosalia

Foto aus dem Auto

Auf dem Monte Pellegrino warten gleich zwei Highlights auf dich:

Auf der einen Seite gibt es ein beeindruckendes Heiligtum für die Schutzpatronin von Palermo, Santa Rosalia. Dies ist in den Fels hineingebaut worden, sodass der Hauptteil des Heiligtums, in dem auch der Schrein der Patronin steht, aus rauem, behauenem Stein besteht. Das Licht ist dementsprechend ausschließlich künstlich, sodass eine mystische Atmosphäre erzeugt wird.

 

Kirche Santa Rosalia

Santa Rosalia

Das zweite Highlight liegt etwas die Straße entlang. Wenn du mit dem Bus auf den Monte Pellegrino gefahren bist, wirst du dorthin bestimmt 20 Minuten zu Fuß laufen müssen. Mit dem Auto bist du in rund 5 Minuten dort. Ich rede von einer großen Fläche am Rande des Berges, von der du einen fantastischen Ausblick auf Palermo hast. Auch die andere Seite bietet einen wundervollen Blick. Allerdings habe ich noch nicht verstanden, worauf! Mondello ist es leider nicht.

Ausblick vom Monte Pellegrino auf Palermo

 

#5 Mondello

Mondello

Mondello ist ein kleines Örtchen, ein Fischerdorf einst, das heute einer der touristischsten Teile Palermos (im weitesten Sinne Palermo) geworden ist. Vor allem im Hochsommer kann man sich hier kaum bewegen. Denn ein jeder möchte an einem der schönsten Strände Italiens sonnen und abends den frischsten Fisch und die besten Meeresfrüchte der Insel probieren.

Am liebsten bin ich hier im Oktober, wenn die Tage noch richtig warm sind, aber die Touristen nur noch in Maßen und nicht mehr in Massen kommen. Dann spaziere ich die Uferpromenade entlang, esse ein Panino con Würstel (eine Art Sandwich mit Würstchen und Ketchup oder Senf – ganz nach Gusto) oder ein Eis im Brioche (ein süßes Brötchen) und kann mich nicht satt sehen an diesem Ausblick, der für mich der schönste der ganzen Welt ist: dem Monte Pellegrino.

Der Berg sieht von Mondello aus wie ein schlafender Bernhardiner (schau genau hin, dann siehst du es auch) und hat mich allein deswegen schon als kleines Kind fasziniert.

Und wann fliegst du nach Palermo?

Konnte ich dich von der Einzigartigkeit und Schönheit von Palermo überzeugen? Wenn du noch Fragen hast, rein damit in die Kommentare! Andernfalls wünsche ich dir: Guten Flug!

 

 

Deine Barbara

The Palermo Guide for Digital Nomads

Palermo Guide for Digital Nomads

Live Like a Local

Du suchst nach einem coolen Spot für digitale Nomaden in Südeuropa? Dann solltest du dir unbedingt Palermo anschauen!

 

Melde dich zu meinem Newsletter an, in dem ich dich über mein Leben auf Reisen und als digitale Nomadin informiere! So verpasst du keinen neuen Blogpost, kein neues E-Book oder wohin mich meine Reisen bringen. Langweilig wird es sicher nicht!
EUROPA
HELSINKI AN EINEM TAG
LATEINAMERIKA
7 MAYA-RUINEN IN MEXIKO UND GUATEMALA
ASIEN
ANGKOR WAT