Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – A Primary Forest in the Heart of Singapore

by | 07/04/18 | Asia, Singapore, Traveling | 2 comments

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Only 12 km from the busy center of Singapore is the nature reserve Bukit Timah, that was founded in 1883 and was one of the first wild life reserves of the country. It boasts a vast eco-system, that offers countless regional plants and animals to visitors. You basically walk through pristine tropical vegetation and you can experience Singapore, how it presumably was many decades ago.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

The area spans 163 hectare and is situated on the Bukit Timah Hill, the highest mountain in Singapore with 163 m, that offers an untouched tropical forest. For more than a hundred years, it’s been a botanical collection, that includes and preserved numerous Malaysian plant species.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is home to 40% of the domestic flora and fauna and a popular spot for nature lovers – strollers, wanderers and joggers find their way here all the same.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – This is what you can do!

In the visitor center directly at the entrance you can inform yourself thoroughly about the history, ecology, flora and fauna. This is what they the emphasize on.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

First of all, this nature reserve is made for taking a walk. This is the perfect spot if you want to go for a long stroll, an energetic walk or simply a small hike. There are several paths that take you across the hillside.

Furthermore, there are ways suitable for mountain bikes. Should the steep incline and the many pedestrians not scare you, you can expect an arduous tour.

Lastly, Bukit Timah offers various tours. With a guide, you can explore the plants and animals of the park. Sadly, during my trip, the monkeys have apparently been hiding.  But luckily, I saw a lot on my trip to Pulau Ubin.  Nonetheless, my guide tried to give me as much input and background as possible.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – How to get there!

The entrance to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is close to MRT-Station Beauty World (Mass Rapid Transit – the local metro). There is also a bus station and, of course, you can take a cab or Uber.

The best way is to go to the Beauty World Mall, with the same name as the bus station, and use the bridge at the top of the mall. It’s only a few 100 m to the entrance of Bukit Timah.

My advice: When you are already in the Beauty World Mall, you can check out the Hawker Center as well. These are food courts, where you can get local cuisine for small money.

Hawker Center Singapore Beauty World

Conclusion

The Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is ideal if you want to escape the big city hassle and discover a new side of Singapore. I took the trip together with Bernice – a local guide that I met through Airbnb* as Experience. This is a new feature of the platform, that enables you to not only book accommodations but also tours and other sorts of experiences such as cooking classes.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve Tour Guide

Of course, you can make the trip without a guide as well. But I think it is wonderful, to have a local young woman that is motivated and tells me about the historical background and the flora and fauna.

Altogether, I think Bukit Timah Nature Reserve’s proximity to the city is perfect, to help you take your mind off and improve your work-life balance. Especially for us digital nomads… During my first stay in Singapore, my House Sitting apartment was right next to Bukit Timah!

Have you been to any nature reserve or national park in Singapore? Tell me about it in the comments!

 

PS: All links with an asterisk (*) are affiliate links.

Live Like a Local in Singapore

Are you in Singapore for the first time or are you planning your first stay? Then you should get my Singapore Guide for Digital Nomads! Get all the information to start your nomad life there right!

Are you searching for a cool spot for digital nomads in South East Asia?

You should check out:

Singapore!

Although Singapore is very often only used to do visa runs, I think it’s definitely worth checking out! In my opinion, it’s an amazing place for digital nomads. That’s why I wrote a guide for you to make you have a smooth start into your nomad life there!

Subscribe to my newsletter so I can keep you posted about my life of travels and as a digital nomad! You will never miss a new blog post, a new ebook or where my next adventure is going to bring us. Because it’s never going to be boring!

SINGAPORE

PHOTO SPOTS

SINGAPORE

LUXUSRESORT CEMPEDAK

SINGAPORE

PULAU UBIN

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – Ein Naturreservat im Herzen Singapurs

von | 07/04/18 | Asien, Reisen | 0 Kommentare

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – Der Nationalpark

Nur 12 km vom geschäftigen Stadtzentrum Singapurs entfernt liegt das Naturreservat Bukit Timah, das 1883 gegründet wurde und eines der ersten Waldreservate des Landes war. Es verfügt über ein reiches Ökosystem, sodass du als Besucher zahlreiche Pflanzen und Tiere der Region bestaunen kannst. Hier wandelt du förmlich durch ursprüngliche, tropische Vegetation und kannst Singapur so erleben, wie es vor vielen Jahrzehnten mal ausgesehen haben mag.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Das Areal umfasst 163 Hektar und befindet sich auf dem mit nur 163 Metern höchsten Berg Singapurs, dem Bukit Timah Hill, und einen primären Regenwald beherbergt – also einen von Menschenhand unberührten Urwald. Dieser ist seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert eine sogenannte botanische Sammlung, in der viele malayische Pflanzenarten erhalten geblieben sind.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Das Bukit Timah Nature Reserve ist Heimat von rund 40% der einheimischen Flora und Fauna und ein beliebter Ort für Naturliebhaber – Spaziergänger, Wanderer und Jogger finden alle gleichermaßen ihren Weg hierher.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – Das kannst du unternehmen!

Im Visitor Center direkt am Eingang kannst du dich umfassend informieren: Geschichte, Ökologie, Flora und Fauna. Das steht hier im Mittelpunkt.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

In erster Linie ist das Naturreservat für Fußgänger gedacht. Du bist genau richtig, wenn du dich auf einen langen Spaziergang, eine energetisierende Laufrunde oder einfach eine kleine Wanderung begeben möchtest. Hier gibt es verschiedene Pfade, über die du Hänge des Berges erkunden kannst.

Außerdem gibt es Wege, die zum Mountainbiken geeignet sind. Sollten dich der steile Anstieg und die vielen Fußgänger nicht stören, kannst du dich hier auf eine schweißtreibende Tour freuen.

Zu guter letzt warten im Bukit Timah Nature Reserve verschiedene Touren: Du kannst mit einem Guide die Pflanzen- und Tierwelt näher kennenlernen. Bei meinem Besuch haben sich die Affen leider versteckt. Dafür habe ich bei meinem Ausflug nach Pulau Ubin ganz viele gesehen! Mein Guide hat dennoch versucht, mir so viel wie möglich Input und Hintergrundwissen zu geben.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve – So kommst du hierher!

Der Eingang zum Bukit Timah Nature Reserve liegt ganz in der Nähe der MRT-Station (MRT steht für Mass Rapid Transit und ist quasi die hiesige Metro) Beauty World. Außerdem gibt es Busstationen und du kannst selbstverständlich ein Taxi oder Uber hierher nehmen.

Am besten gelangst du zum Naturreservat, wenn du im Einkaufszentrum, das wie die MRT-Station auch Beauty World heißt, ganz nach oben gehst und von dort über eine Brücke die Straße überquerst. Von dort sind es nur noch wenige 100 Meter bis zum Eingang des Bukit Timah Nature Reserve.

Tipp: Wenn du schon in Beauty World Mall bist, kannst du dort auch gleich das Hawker Center ausprobieren. So nennt man die Food Courts in Singapur, an denen du für kleines Geld leckere lokale Küche genießen kannst.

Hawker Center Singapore Beauty World

Fazit

Das Bukit Timah Nature Reserve ist ideal, wenn du einfach mal dem Großstadtdschungel entkommen möchtest und eine ganz andere Seite von Singapur entdecken möchtest. Ich habe den Ausflug zusammen mit Bernice gemacht – ein Local Guide, den ich über Airbnb* als Experience gebucht hatte. Das ist ein neues Feature der Plattform, bei der du nun nicht nur Unterkünfte, sondern auch Touren und andere Arten von Erlebnissen wie Kochkurse buchen kannst.

Bukit Timah Nature Reserve Tour Guide

Natürlich kannst du den Ausflug auch ohne Guide machen. Aber ich fand es ganz wunderbar, eine ortskundige junge Frau an meiner Seite zu haben, die mir mit viel Elan geschichtliche Hintergründe verriet und mir von der Flora und Fauna berichtete.

Alles in allem finde ich, dass das Bukit Timah Nature Reserve durch seine Nähe zur Innenstadt ideal ist, um mal auf andere Gedanken zu kommen und sich mit dem Thema Work-Life-Balance auseinander zu setzen, das ja für uns digitale Nomaden häufig ein wunder Punkt ist… Während meines ersten Aufenthalts in Singapur war meine House Sitting Wohnung sogar direkt um die Ecke vom Bukit Timah Nature Reserve.

Warst du schon einmal in einem Naturreservat oder Nationalpark in Singapur? Berichte mir davon in den Kommentaren!

Deine Barbara

PS: Alle mit einem Sternchen (*) markierten Links sind Affiliate Links.

Live Like a Local in Singapore

Du bist neu in Singapur oder planst gerade deinen ersten Aufenthalt? Dann hol dir unbedingt meinen Singapore Guide für digitale Nomaden! Hier findest du alle nötigen Infos, um dich schnell einzuleben!

Du suchst noch einen coolen Spot für digitale Nomaden in Südostasien?

Dann habe ich einen tollen Tipp für dich:

Singapur!

Häufig nur für Visa Runs genutzt, aber dennoch einen genaueren Blick wert! Singapur ist meiner Meinung nach ein toller Ort für digitale Nomaden. Daher habe ich für dich einen Guide geschrieben, der dir alle Informationen liefert, um in der asiatischen Metropole eine richtig geniale Zeit zu verbringen!

Wenn dir dieser Beitrag gefallen hat, würde ich mich freuen, wenn du dich zu meinem Newsletter anmeldest. Darin informiere ich dich dann in regelmäßigen Abständen über neue Beiträge, Bücher oder andere coole Produkte zum Reisen und für digitale Nomaden.

SINGAPUR

FOTOHIGHLIGHTS

SINGAPUR

LUXUSRESORT CEMPEDAK

SINGAPUR

PULAU UBIN