Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery – Vipassana in Thailand

by | 21/02/20 | Traveling, Asia, Thailand, Uncategorized | 0 comments

Some do it to find themselves, others just to disconnect for some time. For me, the four days at Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery were a mix of both.

After my mother’s death, some things in my life were just too much for me. I had also changed a lot to be near her during her last months. Now I didn’t know where my place was anymore. Friends asked why I couldn’t just restart where I left off the year before. At the beginning, I didn’t know how to answer that. I just knew it felt wrong.

And so it came, that I wanted to spend a few days in silence. Only with my thoughts accompanied by the monks’ and the other participants’ chanting.

Two side notes: First, you can stay between two and ten days as long as you want. You can just go there without kind of “booking”. I know that sounds a bit scary, but it’s really no problem. And second, I originally wanted to stay there for five nights, but then I shortened it to four, as you will read below.

How to get to Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

The trip by minivan takes about four hours from Chiang Mai. Book a trip to Mae Hong Son (about 250 Baht) and tell the driver that you want to be dropped off at Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery.

The road is curvy and can be quite stomach-churning. I have done this trip several times and I have to say that it seems to change. Sometimes I get extremely nauseous, sometimes I can relax and enjoy the landscape, even look at my phone. But maybe it is also due to the driving style of the respective driver…

If you don’t want to take all the curves at once, you can make a stopover in the famous hippie village of Pai. This village is about halfway between Chiang Mai and Mae Hong Son City. In the province of the same name you are already here and can enjoy the special flair of the village on the night market of the main street.

Alternatively you can take the bus from Bangkok directly to Mae Hong Son and from where you can take the minivan to Pai or Chiang Mai. From there it takes about one hour.

 

Arriving at Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery is paradise. The compound is quite large although it won’t feel like it if you spend a lot of time there. Try to explore it a little bit and maybe sit quietly at the idyllically rippling brook or the big pond.

Das Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

The most important place for you is the Dharma Hall. This is where the meditations take place, or in the case of walking meditation (I explain the different meditations in the following), this is the starting point. By the way, men and women sit separately, which the volunteers always remind you of in case you forget. There is an area with cushions and there are chairs at the edge, so if you don’t want to or can’t kneel for that long, it’s absolutely no problem. You can also switch from the seat cushion to the chair during the meditation if you are in pain.

Die Dharma Hall von außen – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Die Dharma Hall – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

This is also where the “reception” is located, meaning your first point of contact and your hub in case you have any questions.

Next to the reception is a small library, where you will find numerous books on Buddhism, as well as the book Walk to the Knower, which is a kind of guide for your time doing Vipassana in Thailand.

Library – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

On the wall opposite to the library there is a little ‘buffet’ waiting for you: tea, coffee and sometimes powder for hot chocolate.

On the other side of the shelves are tables where you can read during the day and at the appropriate time this area turns into the dining room.

 

White clothing

When I got there, I got my white clothes. You can either bring your own or borrow some there. It’s free and you can always go to the cottage with the clothes if you need a new t-shirt or trousers. Right next door is a cottage with a laundry. There you can hand in used clothes.

Ich im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

 

Kuti vs dormitory

Then, I was assigned a Kuti – a small hut. I was lucky enough to get a Kuti of my own. Because there are dormitories there, too, where dozens of people sleep.

For me, personally, it was important to be alone with myself in silence. I probably wouldn’t have been very happy in a dormitory.

Whether it’s a dormitory or a Kuti, your ‘home’ is very simple: you get a mat that to put on the floor, a blanket and a pillow. I personally got very cold at night, although I additionally had my own blanket and slept with long clothes. I think the cold just goes through the wood. Fortunately, I always travel with a hot water bottle, so it was ok. But I was never really warm at night.

Mein Kuti im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Even if you have your own Kuti, there’s nothing else in the room. There is a small bathroom attached. However, there is no hot water and you will not find mirrors in the whole monastery.

Kutis im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

 

Silent Badge

It’s not obligatory to go silent at Wat Pa Tam Wua as it is the rule in other Vipassana places. Therefore, 90 percent of the other visitors chatted and laughed. This is not very pleasant and makes it extremely difficult if you want to be silent yourself. If you want to try yourself to stay silence during your stay, you can always take a Silent Badget from the reception and put it on.

Silent Badges im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

I tried to stay as far away as possible from the talking people, but that is not always possible.

Besides, I had an awful lot of questions buzzing around in my head. And I am not talking about the questions that silenced me and needed silence to be answered. I’m talking about questions for which one has to talk, because one can’t find the answer in oneself, like “Where is the monastery shop or café?” or “How do I get to the caves and how far away are they?” Also, many questions about meditation or Buddhism in general started to come up in my head. It was hard for me to concentrate on meditation when I wanted to know in which language people chanted, what Dharma was or why monks’ robes were brown/orange and their heads usually shaved.

 

Routines at the monastery

Every day follows the same pattern. There is a timetable that must be adhered to. As a guest you commit yourself on arrival to always participate in at least the activities in bold print. Absence requires good reasons.

The timetable

  • 05:00 Morning meditation in your kuti.
  • 06:30 Rice offering to the monks.
  • 07:00 Breakfast.
  • 08:00 Morning Dharma talk, and meditation class.
  • 10:30 Food offering to the monks.
  • 11:00 Lunch.
  • 13:00 Afternoon Dharma talk and meditation class.
  • 16:00 Cleaning the area and helping in the monastery.
  • 17:00 Free time.
  • 18:00 Evening Chanting, meditation and Dharma talk.
  • 20:00 Meditation on your own, or have tea, coffee, hot chocolate & relax.
  • 22:00 Rest time.

 

Meals

Buddhist monks are vegans. Therefore you will not find any animal products at the monastery. Whether you like it or not: During your time here you have to eat vegan or bring your own food.

At 6:30 am the Rice Offering will take place at the Dharma Hall. All guests line up on their knees to give each monk a spoonful of rice in a bowl. This is a tradition of Buddhism that can be observed every morning not only in monasteries and temples, but also in the streets of Thailand and other Buddhist countries.

Rice Offering to the Monks – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Only then you can help yourself: There is a buffet with Thai breakfast. So you’ll mainly find rice, rice soup, vegetables and maybe roots and fruits.

Lunch is at 11:00 am, which also follows an offering. This time you don’t offer rice to the monks, but the food in general, which is then part of the buffet. This is of course vegan again.

Lunch is the last meal of the day. After lunch there is some fruits and otherwise only the small shop at the other end of the compound where you can buy noodle soup, chips or soft drinks.

 

Meditation

There are three mandatory meditation sessions per day. First of all everyone meets in the Dharma Hall and before the morning and midday meditation one of the monks talks about Buddhism. Afterwards, there is a 45-minute walking meditation. The main point is to be mindful while walking and let your mantra become one with the walk. The recommended mantra is Bud (when inhaling) – dho (when exhaling), but you can also find your own mantra. This was important to me because Bud-dho didn’t mean anything to me. It worked much better when I found my own, meaningful mantra after two days.

Walking Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Walking Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

After the walking meditation we continue with 45 minutes of sitting meditation in the Dharma Hall and directly afterwards 15 minutes of Lying meditation. Theoretically there is still the standing meditation after Buddha’s teachings, but in Wat Pa Tam Wua it is not part of the program.

Lying Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

The morning and noon meditation is roughly the same. The only difference is that the monk in charge stays after the noon meditation and answers questions. This was also a situation where I was unsure whether I’m allowed to ask questions wearing the Silent Badge.

The evening meditation is a little different from the other meditations. It starts with chanting. There is a Chanting Book for this and the monks tell you which page to open. This is followed by a 40-minute Lying Meditation and then a short speech by the leading monk.

Sitting Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

The chanting is in three languages: Thai and English I recognized immediately, but I didn’t know the third language. Then I found out that it was Pali.

On the last pages of the Chanting Book there is a FAQ section, which I unfortunately only found out about on my last day. A lot of questions are answered there and I wish I had known about it at the very beginning of my stay.

 

Cleaning and helping

This point is optional, but from my own experience I can tell you that sweeping leaves, for example, can be incredibly meditative. This is one of the tasks that you have to do every day and which you can almost never finish. It is important that you practice mindfulness. So it is not the point to talk to others while doing it. But in practice it happens naturally and I am also guilty. The peer pressure was just too strong and I’m really bad at ignoring what’s going on around me.

 

Free time

At first glance, it may seem like you have a lot of free time. But believe me: you will not have a lot of time for yourself in Wat Pa Tam Wua. For example, I had the problem that I usually go to bed at midnight at the earliest. Among other reasons, that has something to do with the fact that Thailand is five or six hours before Germany and midnight in Thailand is 6 pm in Germany. This means that I’m usually chatting with friends, family and customers until late at night. Also, my posts in social media do not go online until around 6 pm German time.

Even being offline at Wat Pa Tam Wua, I could not get used to this completely different rhythm from one day to the other. I had problems to fall asleep before midnight and then I was completely tired the next day. Because of this I often fell asleep during the meditations.

But you should try to take your time and explore the compound and surroundings. It is beautiful! Also the caves are worth a trip. Plan about two hours for it.

Caves – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Caves – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Caves – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

 

My experience and thoughts

About being silent

For me, it was clear: Even if it is not obligatory to go silent in Wat Pa Tam Wua, nothing else would be possible for me.

However, I started to think about the silence. Am I allowed to talk to myself when I am alone? Can I ask short questions like “Where is the toilet?” What is the reason for the silence?

I came to the conclusion that silence has nothing to do with the physical state of not talking, but with the fact that you are left alone with your thoughts. So in my opinion it’s okay to talk to yourself even if you wear the Silent Badge. But on the other hand, it’s not ok to listen to conversations and somehow be passively part of them, even if you’re not talking and actively participating in the conversation. Because that way you would no longer be alone with your thoughts, but you would be thinking about the conversation.

On the second day, I swept the leaves in front of my Kuti. After about ten minutes a girl came and asked if she could help me. I nodded. Another girl came five minutes later. And then another one. All three of them had no Silent Badge and chatted happily about meditation and the meaning of mindful cleaning. So it didn’t take long until I decided that there was no point in remaining silent if I followed their conversations mentally and laughed with them, even without answering. Because by my definition I had already broken the silence IN MY HEAD… So I put my Silent Badge aside.

To cut a long story short: Although I managed to keep silent for a few hours a day and really stay with myself, I didn’t manage to keep silent all the time. If I had really wanted to pull through with it, I would have had to go somewhere else in a situation like when I was sweeping the leaves in order to continue being undisturbed and mindful.

 

About being offline

BUT… yes, there is a but. I went to Wat Pa Tam Forest Monastery for a reason. I wanted the answer to a burning question I was trying to find in the silence. And I found it! Surprisingly, I did not find it in the silence, although I believe that the answer was already within myself. But for some reason I could not see it. I could only see it when I was talking to the people I met at the monastery and talking to them about my question!

Then, I had a thought:

Maybe I still found the answer in the silence. Not in the silence of my voice or my thoughts, but in the silence of the modern world. Without all the “noise” that phones and computers create inside of us… Because even if I have not managed to stay physically silent, I have managed to stay offline and, therefore, silent in social media and messengers. So there was no noise or anything else from the outside world. I’m sure that this “silence” had a huge impact and was much more important than not talking!

When I understood all this and found my answer, I decided to leave the monastery earlier than planned. Although I enjoyed the stay and my answer was a great success, I also realized that it was not good for my health to stay there:

I was always cold (I’m just not made for walking barefoot all the time, and in my little Kuti I was cold day and night), I was always hungry (no food between 11am and 6:30am is not for me), and I was always tired (as I said before, the times just don’t match my biorhythm and I couldn’t get used to it). In addition, half of the visitors were sick, wore thick scarves, drank tea, coughed and took medication from the publicly accessible medicine cabinet.

I was therefore not surprised when, on the same day I left, I got a sore throat, fever, and then a pretty bad cold that accompanied me for four weeks.

 

Final thoughts

I wrote at the beginning that I did not know why I could not pick up where I had left off the year before. After my time in Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery I knew it: I am not the same person anymore.

Walking Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

We all keep changing constantly. Normally we don’t even notice it, because we continuously adapt our decisions and lives to these changes. At least as far as we can. But for eight months I was in the situation that I did not adapt anything to my preferences, but only to my family. After that you can’t go back as if nothing had ever happened.

Of course, the time in the monastery does not change reality. I was and still am very busy to process the death of my mother and I still don’t know exactly who this new Barbara actually is, who is so much more anchored in Germany and Europe than the old Barbara.

Nevertheless, I am grateful for the days of multi-layered silence, for the hours of meditation, for the valuable insights into the life of Buddhist monks. I wouldn’t want to miss this experience at all!

The Chiang Mai Guide for Digital Nomads

Chiang Mai Guide for Digital Nomads

Live Like a Local

Du suchst nach einem coolen Spot für digitale Nomaden in Südostasien? Dann solltest du dir unbedingt die Hauptstadt der digitalen Nomaden Chiang Mai anschauen!

Subscribe to my newsletter so I can keep you posted about my life of travels and as a digital nomad! You will never miss a new blog post, a new ebook or where my next adventure is going to bring us. Because it’s never going to be boring!

THAILAND
DOI SUTHEP
THAILAND
PAI
THAILAND
MEA HONG SON

Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery – Vipassana in Thailand

von | 16/02/20 | Alles und nichts, Asien, Reisen, Thailand | 0 Kommentare

Die einen machen es, um zu sich zu finden. Die anderen machen es, um einfach mal abzuschalten. Für mich selbst waren die vier Tage im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery eine Mischung aus beidem.

Nach dem Tod meiner Mutter war mir so einiges in meinem Leben einfach zu viel. Ich hatte außerdem einiges verändert, um in den letzten Monat in ihrer Nähe sein zu können. Nun wusste ich nicht mehr, wo mein Platz eigentlich ist. Freunde fragten, warum ich nicht einfach da anknüpfen könne, wo ich im Jahr zuvor alles stehen und liegen gelassen habe. Am Anfang wusste ich nicht, wie ich darauf antworten sollte. Ich wusste nur, dass es sich falsch anfühlte.

Und daher wollte ich ein paar Tage in Stille verbringen. Nur mit meinen Gedanken begleitet vom Sprechchor der Mönche und anderen Teilnehmer.

Zwei Sachen vorneweg: Erstens kannst du zwischen zwei und zehn Tagen so lange bleiben, wie du möchtest. Du kannst ohne Ankündigung oder „Buchung“ einfach hinfahren. Ich weiß, das hört sich etwas scary an, ist aber wirklich kein Problem. Ich wollte ursprünglich fünf Nächte dort bleiben, habe dann aber auf vier verkürzt, wie du im Folgenden lesen wirst.

Die Anreise zum Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Die Reise mit dem Minivan dauert etwa vier Stunden von Chiang Mai. Buch eine Fahrt nach Mae Hong Son (ca. 250 Baht) und sag dem Fahrer, dass du am Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery rausgelassen werden möchtest.

Die Strecke ist kurvenreich und kann ganz schön auf den Magen gehen. Ich habe sie mehrmals zurückgelegt und muss sagen, dass das abhängig von meiner Tagesform zu sein scheint. Manchmal wird mir extrem übel, manchmal kann ich ganz entspannt die Landschaft betrachten. Vielleicht liegt es aber auch am Fahrstil des entsprechenden Fahrers…

Wer nicht gleich alle Kurven auf einmal nehmen möchte, kann einen Zwischenstopp in dem bekannten Hippie-Dorf Pai machen. Dieses liegt etwa auf halber Strecke zwischen Chiang Mai und Mae Hong Son Stadt. In der gleichnamigen Provinz bist du hier bereits und kannst dort das besondere Flair des Dorfes auf dem Night Market der Hauptstraße auf dich wirken lassen.

Alternativ kannst du übrigens auch direkt mit dem Bus aus Bangkok nach Mae Hong Son fahren und von dort den Minivan Richtung Pai bzw. Chiang Mai nehmen. Von dort dauert die Fahrt etwa eine Stunde.

 

Ankunft im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Das Gelände des Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery ist paradiesisch und relativ groß. Versuch auf jeden Fall, es ein wenig zu erkunden und vielleicht mal in Ruhe an dem idyllisch vor sich hin plätschernden Bach oder dem großen Teich zu sitzen.

Das Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Der für dich wichtigste Ort ist die Dharma Hall. Hier finden die Meditationen statt bzw. im Falle der Walking Meditation (die verschiedenen Meditationen erkläre ich im Folgenden) ist dies der Ausgangspunkt. Männer und Frauen sitzen übrigens getrennt, woran einen die Voluntäre immer wieder erinnern, falls man es mal vergisst. Es gibt einen Bereich mit Sitzkissen und am Rande stehen Stühle, falls du nicht so lange knien möchtest oder kannst, ist das also absolut kein Problem. Du kannst auch während der Meditation vom Sitzkissen auf den Stuhl wechseln, falls du Schmerzen hast.

Die Dharma Hall von außen – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Die Dharma Hall – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Hier befindet sich auch die „Rezeption“, also deine erste Anlaufstelle und dein Dreh- und Angelpunkt, falls du Fragen haben solltest.

Neben der Rezeption wartet eine kleine Bibliothek, in der du zahlreiche Bücher zum Buddhismus findest, sowie das Buch Walk to the Knower, das sozusagen eine Hilfestellung für deine Zeit im Vipassana in Thailand ist.

Library – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Gegenüberliegend an der Wand steht rund um die Uhr Tee, Kaffee und manchmal Pulver für heiße Schokolade.

Auf der anderen Seite der Regale stehen Tische, an den man tagsüber lesen kann und zu den entsprechenden Zeit verwandelt sich dieser Bereich in das Esszimmer.

 

Weiße Kleidung

Als ich dort ankam, bekam ich meine weiße Kleidung. Du kannst entweder deine eigene weiße Kleidung mitbringen oder dir vor Ort welche leihen. Das ist kostenlos und du kannst jederzeit in das Häuschen mit der Kleidung, falls du mal ein neues T-Shirt oder eine neue Hose brauchen solltest. Direkt nebenan ist ein Häuschen mit einer Wäscherei. Dort kannst du gebrauchte Kleidung abgeben.

Ich im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

 

Kuti vs Schlafsaal

Dann wurde mir ein Kuti – eine kleine Hütte – zugewiesen. Ich hatte das Glück, ein eigenes Kuti zu bekommen. Denn es gibt dort auch Schlafsäle, in denen Dutzende von Menschen schlafen.

Mir persönlich war es wichtig, dass ich in Stille mit mir allein bin. In einem Schlafsaal wäre ich wohl nicht sehr glücklich geworden.

Ob Schlafsaal oder Kuti, deine Bleibe ist sehr einfach: Du bekommst eine Matte, die du auf den Boden legst, eine Decke und ein Kissen. Mir persönlich ist nachts sehr kalt geworden, obwohl ich noch eine eigene Decke hatte und mit langer Kleidung geschlafen habe. Ich denke, dass die Kälte einfach durch das Holz geht. Zum Glück reise ich auch immer mit Wärmflasche, sodass es erträglich war. Aber wirklich warm war mir nachts nie.

Mein Kuti im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Auch wenn du ein Einzelkuti hast, befindet sich nichts weiter in dem Zimmer. Es ist ein kleines Bad angeschlossen. Heißes Wasser gibt es jedoch nicht und auch Spiegel suchst du im ganzen Kloster vergeblich.

Kutis im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

 

Silent Badge

Im Wat Pa Tam Wua herrscht keine Schweigepflicht so wie das bei anderen Vipassana-Einrichtungen die Regel ist. Daher plauderten und lachten 90 Prozent der anderen Besucher. Das ist nicht besonders angenehm und erschwert es extrem, wenn man selbst schweigen möchte! Solltest du dich im Schweigen probieren wollen, kannst du jederzeit ein Silent Badget vom Empfang nehmen und es dir anstecken.

Silent Badges im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Ich versuchte, mich so weit wie möglich von den sprechenden Leuten fernzuhalten, aber das ist nicht immer möglich.

Außerdem hatte ich wahnsinnig viele Fragen in meinem Kopf herumschwirren. Und ich spreche nicht von den Fragen, die mich zum Schweigen brachten und Ruhe brauchten, um beantwortet zu werden. Ich spreche von Fragen für die man reden muss, da man die Antwort nicht in sich selbst findet, wie „Wo ist der Klosterladen bzw. das Café?“ oder „Wie komme ich zu den Höhlen und wie weit sind sie entfernt?“ Außerdem begannen viele Fragen über Meditation oder den Buddhismus im Allgemeinen in meinem Kopf aufzutauchen. Mir fiel es schwer, mich auf die Meditation zu konzentrieren, wo ich doch wissen wollte, in welcher Sprache gebetet wurde, was denn nun Dhamma sei oder wieso die Gewänder von Mönchen braun/orange waren.

 

Die Abläufe im Kloster

Jeder Tag folgt dem gleichen Schema. Es gibt einen Zeitplan, der eingehalten werden muss. Als Gast verpflichtest du dich bei deiner Ankunft, mindestens an den fett gedruckten Aktivitäten immer teilzunehmen. Abwesenheit bedarf triftiger Gründe.

Der Zeitplan

  • 05:00 Morning meditation in your kuti.
  • 06:30 Rice offering to the monks.
  • 07:00 Breakfast.
  • 08:00 Morning Dharma talk, and meditation class.
  • 10:30 Food offering to the monks.
  • 11:00 Lunch.
  • 13:00 Afternoon Dharma talk and meditation class.
  • 16:00 Cleaning the area and helping in the monastery.
  • 17:00 Free time.
  • 18:00 Evening Chanting, meditation and Dharma talk.
  • 20:00 Meditation on your own, or have tea, coffee, hot chocolate & relax.
  • 22:00 Rest time.

 

Die Mahlzeiten

Buddhistische Mönche ernähren sich vegan. Daher wirst du hier im Kloster keinerlei tierische Produkte finden. Ob du willst oder nicht: Während deiner Zeit vor Ort musst auch du mit veganem Essen Vorlieb nehmen.

Um 6:30 Uhr findet in der Dharma Hall das Rice Offering statt. Alle Gäste reihen sich knieend auf, um jedem der Mönche einen Löffel Reis in eine Schüssel zu geben. Dies ist eine Tradition des Buddhismus, die man nicht nur in Klöstern und Tempeln, sondern auch in den Straßen Thailands und anderer buddhistischer Länder beobachten kann.

Rice Offering to the Monks – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Danach erst kannst du selbst zugreifen: Es gibt ein Buffet mit thailändischem Frühstück. Also findest du hier vor allem Reis, Reissuppe, Gemüse und vielleicht Wurzeln und Obst.

Mittagessen gibt es dann um 11:00 Uhr, das ebenfalls auf ein Offering folgt. Diesmal offerierst du den Mönchen aber nicht Reis, sondern allgemein die Speisen, die dann Teil des Buffets sind. Dies ist natürlich wieder vegan.

Das Mittagessen ist die letzte Mahlzeit des Tages. Danach gibt es noch ein bisschen Obst und sonst nur den kleinen Shop am anderen Ende des Geländes, in dem du Nudelsuppe, Chips oder Soft Drinks kaufen kannst.

 

Die Meditation

Es gibt drei obligatorische Meditationsrunden pro Tag. Dafür treffen sich erst einmal alle in der Dharma Hall und vor der Morgen- und Mittagsmeditation erläutert einer der Mönche buddhistische Themen. Danach geht es mit der 45-minütigen Walking Meditation erst richtig los. Dabei geht es vor allem darum, dass man beim Laufen meditiert, achtsam ist und sein Mantra mit dem Gang eins werden lässt. Das empfohlene Mantra lautet Bud (beim Einatmen) – dho (beim Ausatmen), aber du kannst im Prinzip auch dein eigenes Mantra finden. Mir persönlich war das wichtig, weil ich mit Bud-dho nichts anfangen konnte. Es klappte viel besser, als ich nach zwei Tagen mein eigenes Mantra gefunden hatte.

Walking Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Walking Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Nach der Walking Meditation geht es weiter mit 45 Minuten Sitting Meditation in der Dharma Hall und direkt im Anschluss 15 Minuten Lying Meditation. Theoretisch gibt es nach Buddhas Lehren noch die Standing Meditation, die aber in Wat Pa Tam Wua nicht Teil des Programms ist.

Lying Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Die Morgen- und Mittagsmeditation läuft in etwa gleich ab. Der einzige Unterschied ist, dass der betreuende Mönch nach der Meditation da bleibt und Fragen beantwortet. Auch dies war eine Situation, in der ich verunsichert war, ob ich das mit Silent Badge wahrnehmen soll und darf.

Die Abendmeditation unterscheidet sich ein wenig von den anderen Meditationen. Sie beginnt mit dem Chanting, ich glaube, im Deutschen passt das Wort Sprechchor am besten, da es für mich kein Beten ist und auch nicht als Singen bezeichnet werden kann. Dafür gibt es ein Chanting Book und die Mönche sagen an, welche Seite aufgeschlagen muss. Darauf folgt eine 40-minütige Lying Meditation und dann eine kurze Rede durch den leitenden Mönch.

Sitting Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Das Chanting findet in drei Sprachen statt: Thai und Englisch habe ich sofort erkannt, aber die dritte Sprache kannte ich nicht. Ich habe dann herausgefunden, dass es sich dabei um Pali handelt.

Auf den letzten Seiten des Chanting Books befindet sich eine FAQ-Sektion, von der ich leider erst an meinem letzten Tag erfahren habe. Dort werden sehr viele Fragen beantwortet und ich wünschte, ich hätte bereits ganz am Anfang meines Aufenthalts gewusst.

 

Putzen und Aufräumen

Dieser Punkt ist freiwillig, aber aus eigener Erfahrung kann ich dir sagen, dass zum Beispiel Laubfegen unheimlich meditativ sein kann. Das ist eine der Aufgaben, die täglich anfallen und mit der man quasi niemals fertig wird. Wichtig ist, dass du dich dabei theoretisch in Achtsamkeit üben sollst. Es ist also nicht Sinn der Sache, sich dabei mit anderen zu unterhalten. In der Praxis geschieht das aber natürlich und auch ich bin schuldig im Sinne der Anklage. Der Gruppenzwang war einfach zu stark und ich kann da leider nicht auf Durchzug schalten.

 

Freizeit

Auf den ersten Blick mag es so aussehen, als hättest du viel Freizeit. Aber glaube mir, wenn ich dir sage: so viel Zeit für dich wirst du in Wat Pa Tam Wua gar nicht haben. Ich hatte zum Beispiel auch das Problem, dass ich für gewöhnlich frühestens um Mitternacht schlafen gehe. Das hat zum Beispiel auch was damit zu tun, dass Thailand fünf bzw. sechs Stunden vor Deutschland ist und Mitternacht in Thailand 18 Uhr in Deutschland ist. Damit habe ich bis spät abends noch Kontakt zu Freunden, Familie, Kunden. Auch meine Posts in den sozialen Medien gehen erst gegen 18 Uhr deutsche Zeit online.

Auch wenn ich in Wat Pa Tam Wua offline war, konnte ich mich nicht von jetzt auf gleich an diesen völlig anderen Rhythmus gewöhnen. Ich hatte Probleme vor Mitternacht zu schlafen und war dann am nächsten Tag völlig übermüdet. Dadurch bin ich bei den Meditationen oft eingeschlafen, was natürlich auch nicht Sinn des Ganzen ist.

Du solltest dir aber versuchen, die Zeit zu nehmen und das Gelände zu erkunden. Es ist wunderschön! Auch die Höhlen sind einen Ausflug wert. Plane etwa zwei Stunden dafür ein.

Caves – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Caves – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Caves – Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

 

Meine Erfahrungen und Gedanken

Zum Schweigen

Für mich war klar: Auch wenn es nicht obligatorisch ist, in Wat Pa Tam Wua zu schreiben, kommt für mich nichts anderes infrage.

Allerdings begann ich ziemlich schnell über das Schweigen nachzudenken. Darf ich mit mir selbst reden, wenn ich alleine bin? Darf ich kurze Fragen stellen wie „Wo ist die Toilette?“? Was steckt hinter dem Schweigen?

Ich kam zu dem Schluss, dass das Schweigen nichts mit dem körperlichen Zustand des Nicht-Redens zu tun hat, sondern mit der Tatsache, dass man mit seinen Gedanken allein bleibt. Meiner Meinung nach ist es also in Ordnung, mit sich selbst zu reden, auch wenn man das Silent Badge trägt. Aber andererseits ist es nicht ok, Gesprächen zuzuhören und irgendwie passiv dabei zu sein, auch wenn man nicht spricht und aktiv am Gespräch teilnimmt. Denn so wäre man ja nicht mehr mit seinen Gedanken allein, sondern denkt über die Gespräche nach.

Am zweiten Tag habe ich das Laub vor meinem Kuti gefegt. Nach etwa zehn Minuten kam ein Mädchen und fragte, ob sie mir helfen könne. Ich nickte. Weitere 5 Minuten später kam ein anderes Mädchen zu uns. Und dann noch eins. Alle drei hatten sie kein Silent Badge und plauderten fröhlich über die Meditation und den Sinn des achtsamen Aufräumens. So dauerte es nicht lange, bis ich beschloss, dass es keinen Sinn machte, zu schweigen, wenn ich ihren Gesprächen gedanklich folgte und mit ihnen lachte, auch ohne zu antworten. Denn nach meiner Definition hatte ich das Schweigen IN MEINEM KOPF bereits gebrochen… Also legte ich mein Silent Badge zur Seite.

Lange Rede, kurzer Sinn: Obwohl ich es schaffte, einige Stunden am Tag zu schweigen und wirklich bei mir zu bleiben, schaffte ich es nicht, ganz zu schweigen. Hätte ich das wirklich durchziehen wollen, hätte ich in so einer Situation wie beim Laubfegen woanders hingehen müssen, um weiter ungestört und achtsam fegen zu können.

 

Zum Offlinesein

ABER… ja, es gibt ein Aber. Ich ging aus einem bestimmten Grund ins Wat Pa Tam Forest Monastery. Ich wollte die Antwort auf eine brennende Frage, die ich in der Stille zu finden suchte. Und ich fand sie! Überraschenderweise fand ich sie nicht in der Stille, obwohl ich glaube, dass die Antwort bereits in mir selbst lag. Aber aus irgendeinem Grund konnte ich sie nicht sehen. Ich konnte sie nur sehen, als ich mit den Menschen sprach, die ich im Kloster traf und mich mit ihnen über meine Frage unterhielt!

Dann kam mir ein Gedanke:

Vielleicht fand ich sie trotzdem in der Stille. Nicht in der Stille meiner Stimme und meiner Gedanken, sondern in der Stille der modernen Welt. Ohne all den „Lärm“, den Telefone und Computer in uns erzeugen… Denn auch wenn ich es nicht geschafft habe, schweigsam zu bleiben, habe ich es sehr wohl geschafft, offline zu bleiben. Auch dass ist hier nämlich kein Muss. Es gab also keinen Lärm von sozialen Medien oder irgendetwas anderem aus der Außenwelt. Ich bin mir sicher, dass diese „Stille“ einen großen Einfluss hatte und viel wichtiger war als nicht zu reden!

Als ich das alles verstanden und meine Antwort gefunden hatte, beschloss ich, das Kloster früher als geplant zu verlassen. Obwohl ich den Aufenthalt genoss und meine Antwort ein großer Erfolg war, merkte ich auch, dass es nicht gut für meine Gesundheit war, im Kloster zu bleiben:

Mir war immer kalt (ich bin einfach nicht dafür gemacht, ständig barfuß zu gehen, und in meinem kleinen Kuti fror ich Tag wie Nacht), ich war immer hungrig (zwischen 11 Uhr und 6:30 nichts zu essen, ist nichts für mich) und immer müde (wie bereits erwähnt entsprechen die Zeiten einfach nicht meinem Biorhythmus und ich konnte mich nicht gut eingewöhnen). Zudem war gefühlt die Hälfte er Besucher krank, trugen dicke Schals, tranken Tee, husteten und nahmen Medikamente aus dem öffentlich zugänglichen Medikamenteschrank.

Ich war daher auch nicht überrascht, als ich am selben Tag, an dem ich ging, Halsschmerzen bekam und dann eine ziemlich schlimme Erkältung bekam, die mich vier Wochen lang hartnäckig begleitete.

 

Mein Fazit

Ich habe zu Beginn geschrieben, dass ich nicht wusste, warum ich nicht da anknüpfen konnte, wo ich im Jahr zuvor aufgehört hatte. Nach meiner Zeit im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery wusste ich es: Ich bin nicht mehr derselbe Mensch.

Walking Meditation im Wat Pa Tam Wua Forest Monastery

Wir verändern uns alle ununterbrochen. Im Normalfall merken wir das gar nicht so, weil wir unsere Entscheidungen ebendiesen Veränderungen kontinuierlich anpassen. Zumindest soweit wir das können. Nun war ich aber acht Monate in der Situation, dass ich meine Entscheidungen nicht meinen Vorlieben angepasst habe, sondern einzig der Nähe zu meiner Familie. Das prägt und danach kann man nicht zurück, als wäre nie etwas gewesen.

Natürlich ändert die Zeit im Kloster nicht die Realität. Ich war und bin weiterhin stark damit beschäftigt, den Tod meiner Mutter zu verarbeiten, und ich weiß immer noch nicht genau, wer diese neue Barbara eigentlich ist, die so viel mehr in Deutschland und Europa verankert ist als die alte Barbara.

Dennoch bin ich dankbar für die Tage der mehrschichtigen Stille, für die Stunden der Meditation, für die wertvollen Einblicke in das Leben buddhistischer Mönche. Diese Erfahrung möchte ich keinesfalls missen!

Deine Barbara

The Chiang Mai Guide for Digital Nomads

Chiang Mai Guide for Digital Nomads

Live Like a Local

Du suchst nach einem coolen Spot für digitale Nomaden in Südostasien? Dann solltest du dir unbedingt die Hauptstadt der digitalen Nomaden Chiang Mai anschauen!

Subscribe to my newsletter so I can keep you posted about my life of travels and as a digital nomad! You will never miss a new blog post, a new ebook or where my next adventure is going to bring us. Because it’s never going to be boring!

THAILAND
DOI SUTHEP
THAILAND
PAI
THAILAND

MEA HONG SON