Halloumi Burger – The Mediterranean Burger Fun

by | 11/11/20 | Recipes, Uncategorized | 0 comments

Today comes the second recipe on Barbaralicious. Since I can’t travel at the moment like I did in the past, I try to satisfy my wanderlust with culinary dishes. Today I will continue with another dish that reminds me of Israel: Halloumi burgers with vegetable sticks!

Portions

2

Ready in

40 Minutes

Calories

ca. 1000

Level

Easy

Halloumi is a semi-solid cheese from the Mediterranean area. It is popular in Greece and Turkey, but I have eaten it mostly in Israel. It is made from cow, sheep, or goat milk. Sometimes also from a mixture of these milks. It is also often called grilled cheese. As a vegetarian burger patty, I find it particularly tasty and would like to introduce this Mediterranean, slightly oriental burger to you today.

Ingredients

  • 1 Halloumi
  • Potatoes
  • 2 Carrots
  • Sweet Potato
  • 1 Tomato
  • 1 Heart Lettuce
  • 1 Red Onion
  • Burger Buns
  • Creme fraiche
  • 1 tsp Honey
  • 2 tsp Mustard
  • Olive Oil
Halloumi Burger
Ingredients Halloumi Burger

Preparation

Step 1

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees circulating air. Peel the potatoes, the sweet potato, and the carrots and cut them into sticks 1-2 centimeters thick each. Put them on a baking tray after you have stirred them in olive oil with salt. On the middle shelf, they need 25-30 minutes.

Step 4

In the last 3 to 5 minutes of the baking time of the sticks, put the burger buns in the oven. They will be golden brown and taste better.

Step 2

When the sticks are in the oven, it’s the burger topping’s turn. Cut the halloumi into about 2 centimeters thick slices. Then also cut the tomato into slices and the onion into rings. Peel the lettuce leaves.

Step 5

Fry the Halloumi in a large pan at medium heat. After about two minutes you can add the onion rings and fry them.

Step 3

For the dressing and the dip, mix mustard and honey in the creme fraiche. Season with salt and pepper and stir until smooth.

Step 6

Now it’s time to put the things together: Put some of the mustard-honey dip on one half of a bun and put lettuce leaves, tomato slices, onion rings, and the halloumi on the bun. The sticks taste twice as good with the dip!

Ingredients Halloumi Burger
Fries and Veggie Sticks in the oven
Halloumi Burger

The yummy dinner with

Mediterranean Feeling is ready!

Tips

Tip 1

If you get fresh beetroot, you can add it to the vegetable sticks. Tastes also super yummy in the mix!

Tip 2

Be careful with the sticks so that they do not touch each other when in the oven. Then they turn out crispier.

Halloumi Burger with Fries and Veggie Sticks

Blog Posts

As a travel blogger I have of course written a few blog posts about the countries where people eat dishes with Halloumi. I mainly spent some time in Israel, but I also visited the West Bank, Jordan, and the United Arab Emirates. Here you can browse a bit through the “Halloumi countries” and travel there in your thoughts.

The Fortress of Masada

Judean Desert, Israel

Petra & Jerash Jordan
Photo Spots in Dubai Dubai, UAE

Did you like this blog post?

Share it in your social networks!

Newsletter

Subscribe to my newsletter so I can keep you posted about my life of travels and as a digital nomad! You will never miss a new blog post, a new ebook or where my next adventure is going to bring us. Because it’s never going to be boring!

Nablus and Jenin Tour
MIDDLE EAST
NABLUS AND JENIN
Masada
MIDDLE EAST

DAY TRIP TO THE DEAD SEA

christian part church og nativity
MIDDLE EAST
BEST OF THE WESTBANK

Halloumi Burger – Der mediterrane Burgerspaß

von | 30/10/20 | Alles und nichts, Rezepte | 0 Kommentare

Heute kommt das zweite Rezept auf Barbaralicious. Da ich momentan nicht so reisen kann, wie ich das in der Vergangenheit getan habe, versuche ich mein Fernweh mit kulinarischen Gerichten zu stillen. Heute geht es weiter mit einem weiteren Gericht, das mich an Israel erinnert: Halloumi-Burger mit Gemüsesticks!

Portionen

2

Fertig in

40 Minuten

Kalorien

ca. 1000

Level

Leicht

Halloumi ist ein halbfester Käse aus dem Mittelmeerraum. In Griechenland und der Türkei ist er beliebt, aber ich habe ihn vor allem in Israel häufig gegessen. Er ist aus Kuh-, Schaf- oder Ziegenmilch gemacht. Manchmal auch aus einer Mischung dieser Milchsorten. Er wird häufig auch als Grillkäse bezeichnet. Ich finde ihn als vegetarischen Burgerpatty besonders lecker und möchte dir heute daher diesen mediterranen, leicht orientalisch angehauchten Burger vorstellen.

Zutaten

  • 1 Halloumi
  • Kartoffeln
  • 2 Karotten
  • Süßkartoffel
  • 1 Tomate
  • 1 Salatherz
  • 1 rote Zwiebel
  • Brioche- / Burgerbrötchen
  • Creme fraiche
  • 1 TL Honig
  • 2 TL mittelscharfer Senf
  • Olivenöl
Halloumi Burger
Zutaten Halloumi Burger

Zubereitung

Schritt 1

Heize den Backofen auf 200 Grad Umluft vor. Schäle die Kartoffeln, die Süßkartoffel und die Karotten und schneide sie in je 1-2 Zentimeter dicke Sticks. Lege sie auf ein Backblech, nachdem du sie in Olivenöl mit Salz gerührt hast. Auf der mittleren Schiene benötigen sie 25-30 Minuten.

Schritt 4

Lege in den letzten 3 bis 5 Minuten der Backzeit der Sticks die Burgerbrötchen mit in den Backofen. Sie werden sie schön goldbraun und schmecken besser.

Schritt 2

Wenn die Sticks im Backofen sind, ist der Belag des Burgers an der Reihe. Schneide den Halloumi in ca. 2 Zentimeter dicke Scheiben. Schneide dann auch die Tomate in Scheiben und die Zwiebel in Ringe. Zupfe die Salatblätter ab.

Schritt 5

Brate den Halloumi in einer großen Pfanne auf mittlerer Stufe an. Nach etwa zwei Minuten kannst du die Zwiebelringe dazugeben und mitbraten.

Schritt 3

Für das Dressing und den Dip Senf und Honig in der Creme fraiche verrühren.  Mit Salz und Pfeffer würzen und glatt rühren.

Schritt 6

Nun ist es Zeit, den Burger zu belegen: Gib etwas von dem Senf-Honig-Dip auf eine Brötchenhälfte und lege Salatblätter, Tomatenscheiben, Zwiebelringe und den Halloumi auf das Brötchen. Die Sticks schmecken mit dem Dip gleich doppelt gut!

Zutaten Halloumi Burger
Pommes und Gemüse Sticks im Backofen
Halloumi Burger

Fertig ist das leckere Abendessen

mit Mittelmeer-Feeling!

Tipps

Tipp 1

Wenn du frische Rote Beete bekommst, kannst du die zu den Gemüsesticks hinzufügen. Schmecken ebenfalls super lecker in der Kombi!

Tipp 2

Pass bei den Sticks auf, dass sie sich nicht berühren. Dann werden sie knuspriger.

Halloumi Burger mit Pommes / Gemüse Sticks

Blogposts

Als Reiseblog habe ich natürlich ein paar Blogposts über die Länder geschrieben, in denen man Gerichte mit Halloumi isst. Ich habe vor allem einige Zeit in Israel verbracht, war aber auch im Westjordanland, in Jordanien und in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten. Hier kannst du ein bisschen in den „Halloumi-Ländern“ stöbern und in Gedanken dorthin reisen.

Die Festung von Masada

Wüste Juda, Israel

Petra & Jerash

Jordanien

Fotospots in Dubai

Dubai, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate

Hat dir dieser Blogpost gefallen?

Dann teile ihn in deinen sozialen Netzwerken!

Newsletter

Melde dich zu meinem Newsletter an, um über mein Leben auf Reisen und als digitale Nomadin auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben! So verpasst du nie einen neuen Blog-Eintrag, ein neues eBook oder wo mein nächstes Abenteuer uns hinführen wird. Denn es wird nie langweilig werden!

Nablus und Jenin Tour
NAHOST
NABLUS UND JENIN
Masada
NAHOST

TAGESAUSFLUG ANS TOTE MEER

christian part church og nativity
NAHOST
BEST OF THE WESTBANK